It’s Been a Work In Progress

All semester long I’ve been compiling a list of things I want to experience in life. My blog has opened my eyes to all the excitement there is out there. As I read over my list so far, I saw I had “Go and bet at a horse race”. Well, why wait? I decided this past week to make one of my life goals happen now: I attended the AC Horse Races.

I had always seen horse races on TV where women wear big fancy hats to the Kentucky Derby and men place high bets. Each year, the horse races come to the Atlantic City Racetrack at the end of April, and many locals attend with their families. The idea of placing small bets on horses with crazy names always sounded like so much fun to me. Even though I had heard so much about them, I had never attended.horse-067

What did I think? I loved it. Post time was at 3:30 PM, so my friend Ben and I arrived at 3 to buy a game book and look over which horses were racing first. There were all kinds of statistics on each horse, their trainer, and their racing records. To a beginner like me, it was confusing so I had to ask a couple of the older men there for their strategies. They said to look over what kind of race it was (turf, distance, etc..) From there, they said look at how well each horse had done in prior races. Alot of the horses at these local race tracks are not very experienced, so picking a horse to win, place, or show is based on luck. My final strategy? Choose the one with the best name. horse-0661For Race 1, I chose “Lady Fendi” to Win, meaning she had to win out of all 12 horses in order for me to get my money. I put down $2 and waited to see what happened. Well, Lady Fendi didn’t even win, place, or show (meaning come in first, second, or third) so I lost my money. That seemed to be the theme for the rest of the day for me. Three bucks gone here, two bucks lost there… But I had a really fun time. It was interesting to watch how people bet differently and how the horses are trained, maintained, and showcased by their owners.

Many people have “bucket lists” of goals they want to achieve and experiences they want to have in their lifetime. This list I’ve created is no where near done, but it’s a start:

  • Go on a Eurotrip
  • Swim with a dolphin
  • Attend the Superbowl
  • Go on a cruise
  • Be an audience member on a popular TV show
  • Go whitewater rafting
  • Run a marathon
  • Be happily married and have children
  • Get my fortune told
  • Research my family tree
  • Ride a horse
  • Milk a cow
  • Attend the Kentucky Derby
  • Write a song
  • Design my dream home
  • Meet someone famous
  • Learn how to ballroom dance
  • Try all ethnic foods
  • Write a book
  • Own a dog
  • Meet a hero of mine
  • Go paintballing
  • Bake a fancy cake– from scratch!
  • Go wine tasting
  • Learn how to play the piano
  • Be an extra in a movie
  • Grow a plant (and keep it alive)
  • Volunteer work for an organization I’m passionate about
  • Go golfing
  • Go snow tubing
  • Take photography classes
  • Take pottery classes
  • Actually fast a full 24 hours for Yom Kippur
  • Adopt a pet
  • Visit my past homes
  • Create scrapbooks for all my old pictures
  • Find my religion
  • Rewatch all my favorite childhood TV shows on a rainy day
  • Go scuba diving
  • Get lost, willingly

To be continued…

One thing I’ve learned with trying new things is that with one experience comes the desire for another. Since the horse races were great, I altered my list and added “Attend the Kentucky Derby”. If I’ve learned anything this semester, it is that life is a journey. I’m excited to see where that journey takes me!

Published in: on May 5, 2009 at 2:40 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://firsttime4everything.wordpress.com/2009/05/05/its-been-a-work-in-progress/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

